What our clients say about us

Patricia Grimes

We had such a great day today. Despite my poor child being capsized twice by her Daddy we all
Laughed from start to finish, Charlie was an amazing guide and made us all feel very safe and looked after. Great day out worth every penny. We WILL be back!!!! Can’t wait to see the photos.

Patricia GrimesOctober 2017
Rana Sayegh

…after getting off to a rocky start Charlie put me at ease…the scenery was breathtaking and the river route was the right level of chilled out and rapids…charlie was a great guide and explained everything from safety to history and everything in between…something different for a Saturday morning and would definitely recommend and would go again… Enjoy, get out of comfort zone and go with the flow 

Rana.October2017

Rana SayeghOctober 2017
JonDub - Tripadvisor

Canoeing and wild camping on the Barrow

My teenage son and I had a wonderful weekend in early Sept canoeing on the Barrow. Charlie supplied the canoe and wet gear and we brought the food and camping stuff. The Barrow is majestic and we negotiated the many locks with excitement. A brilliant way to see the peace and quiet of thew river and a good work out too. Thoroughly recommend.

JonDub - TripadvisorSeptember 2017
Travel14Childs, Sydney, Australia (TripAdvisor)

A very special adventure

We had a great morning with Charlie who is an enthusiast for what he does. The whole thing was a great mix of excitement and serenity. Charlie was good at instructing you on what to do and building your confidence. It is a very beautiful section of the Barrow River and there is interesting history about the river and the canal system here that he tells you about as you go along. It was a great way to feel connected to the natural beauty of Ireland and we did it after a hectic few days in Dublin and I felt it really helped us relax into our holiday in a good way.

Travel14Childs, Sydney, Australia (TripAdvisor)September 2017
Jenny Ni Dhuill

Thanks guys we had a ball Saturday will highly recommend to others can’t wait to return

jennynidhuill.september.2017

Jenny Ni DhuillSeptember 2017
Paul Nicoll

Had a great time on the river
yesterday with our stag party!

Thanks guys �

paulnicoll.september.stag.2017

Paul NicollSeptember 2017
James O Carroll

Went here for a work outing and it was something different great craic was had would recommend it to anyone up for trying something new

James O CarrollSeptember 2017
Tom Carlin

Completed an immensely enjoyable 1 day canoeing tuition with Charlie on the Barrow – excellent teaching and adapting to our levels. If you want to also experience Barrow and its diverse natural charms, Charlie has a wealth of knowledge to share. Can’t recommend this company high enough.

Tom CarlinSeptember 2017
Neil C

A wonderful experience

We had a wonderful and highly enjoyable day paddling along the beautiful River Barrow with Charlie. He supplied us with all the required equipment and very patiently upskilled us so that we were able to descend the weirs (without capsizing). Not only is he a very good teacher, but he is also very easy to get along with. As well as this, he has a deep knowledge of the natural and cultural heritage of the area that he shares in a very engaging manner along the way. Journeying along the river with him gave us the opportunity to really see, hear and experience its many riches. If you want to take a break from the bustle of your everyday life, paddle a canoe with Charlie.

Neil C September 2017
David B

A wonderful canoeing trip

We did the 5 day self-guided trip from Athy to St Mullins; Charlie met us with all the necessary equipment and gave us advice about what to look out for on the way as well an excellent guidebook. The accommodation he had arranged for us was great. Along the way we loved seeing the swans and herons and were lucky enough to see a kingfisher. We enjoyed chatting to the few other paddlers we met as well as people at the locks curious about where we were going.This was a fantastistic way to see the south-east and we would highly recommend using Go With The Flow.

David BAugust 2017
Barry H

Great fun!

My daughter and I recently spent a brilliant day canoeing with Go with the Flow. The day was well organised, relaxed and great fun. Charlie looked after us very well and was particularly patient and encouraging with a nervous 6 year old. Highly recommended.

Barry H August 2017
Jemach

A fantastic family day out

We were looking for a fun and different experience, other than doing the museum and historical buildings tourist thing.This trip was easily arranged and booked. Cliff our guide was very helpful. Putting on the provided wetsuits, life jackets and helmets made us feel the part . Our family had a memorable time and enjoyed the weirs, Rapids and lochs, including the spills. A wonderful experience and break from the museums. The only downside was the mix abilities and pics on our trip. Don’t let that deter you, we are still talking about our river adventure.

JemachAugust 2017
Gerry - Stag Party

An unforgettable experience which made our Stag weekend!

I decided as best man to do something a little different and exciting for my brothers stag do, and boy, I was not disappointed – nor was he! It was a miserably wet day on an August bank holiday weekend, so a better activity we could not have done! The guys made us all feel so comfortable and at ease managing the canoes and being out on the water, you can tell that they have a real passion for it.The lads all spoke highly about the activity afterwards, and it set the mood at a great level for the night ahead! The equipment was all supplied and all we needed were a pair of old runners, shorts and top. Paddling down the river Barrow was lovely, and im sure even better on a good day in terms of seeing the sights! But we were being kept busy trying to hold on as we ventured the manageable rapids and trying to avoid someone flipping us out of our boat!! Once again, a fantastic experience and one I would highly recommend – thanks lads for creating a memorable experience! Gerry and the Cavan Stag group!

gerry.august2017

Gerry - Stag PartyAugust 2017
Sylvia Macken

The crack was 90 today. All abilities catered for. Under Kevin’s guidance we learn vast amounts. We had the day of all days. Anybody reading this just go & do it!!!

testimonials.sylviamacken.gowiththeflow

Sylvia MackenAugust 2017
Esther V

The most fun we had during our two weeks holiday in County Kilkenny!

Charlie from Go with the Flow is a relaxed and humoristic travel companion. He gives good instructies and then let’s you go free. Of course he helps you whenever required. For starters as well as for experienced canoe-fans there is lots of fun and excitement during the day out on the river Barrow. Most of our trip it was raining, but that actually gave the tour an extra dimension and it did not bother any of our group. Falling in the river was fun, as was the break when we all took a swim.To top it all off, you will be surrounded by beautiful nature. I highly recommend Go With The Flow to all people who are able to sit down on a kneeboard or a canoe for a few hours!

Esther VAugust 2017
Aisling Corcoran

On our holidays in Wexford & had a fabulous day kayaking today with Charlie & Fionn. 2 adults & five girls aged 8-13 & all had a great time. 3 hours of easy fun on the river & a bit of swimming along the way. When we asked the girls what score would they give the river experience they all said 10/10…we will definitely be back on our next holiday. Thank you for a great afternoon ���

Aisling CorcoranAugust 2017
Carohal

Amazing Exprience – Great Fun

Ten women all celebrating a very significant birthday booked ‘Go with Flow; and what fun was had. Expertise from Charlie and Kevin made the whole trip a memorable experience. One or two members of our groups were nervous of the water but Charlie reassured them and they were joining in the fun forgetting their fears. The water views were incredible and the paddling was easy enough once we got used to it. A great great day out and would highly recommend to anyone.

Carohal August 2017
James Foley

A group of us (5 adults and 3 young children) took the “self guided valley of the monks tour” with Go with the Flow this weekend, and loved every minute of it.

Charlie was very helpful, ensuring that everyone was safe, well equipped and comfortable before heading out on the water.

The route from Clashganny to Graiguenamanagh is equally picturesque as it is approachable for novice paddlers.

I’d easily recommend this trip for anyone visiting the south east, and while we chose to paddle back to Clash from Graiguenamanagh, the option to leave the boats behind and have them collected is great!

We’ll definitely be going again!

James FoleyAugust 2017
Marese Hegarty

Thanks for a wonderful experience – so much fun surrounded by such natural beauty. First kingfisher I’ve seen in years. Would recommend it to anyone. As an absolute beginner felt very well looked after.

gowiththeflow.barrowdiscovery.august2017

Marese HegartyAugust 2017
Jesper G

Myself and three friends got a package with three days of canoeing and two nights accommodation trough Go with the Flow River Adventures. We had a great time and it something I strongly recommend to people who want to meet up and do something different.

Jesper G August 2017
Mandr&David

My husband and I had an amazing adventure with Charlie and Cliff. We are avid water folk from Canada but have never had the opportunity to experience a lock system and weirs. What’s great about the tour is that you don’t need experience at all to enjoy yourself. The weirs are easy and fun to navigate, the river is calm, the rapids are small and easy and the people we were with was awesome. We had beautiful weather, a great group of people to travel with and the length of the trip was perfect. Charlie is knowledgable, experienced, fun and patient. We had a blast and would recommend this to anyone and everyone!! Can’t wait to come back and do it all over again!

Mandr&David August 2017
John Geraghty

The Barrow, an undiscovered gem and the best way to see it is with Gowiththeflow. We stayed close to Borris on the first night. The next morning we drove 30 mins to St Mullins with its beautiful picturesque setting. Left the car there and the company picked us up and drove us back to Borris to the start of our canoe trip. The 16km journey down-stream took us 6 hours including a lunch break in Graig. Once you reach St Mullins there is another nice coffee shop just waiting for you. You will not forget this trip and I can’t believe it is such a peaceful, tranquil stretch of waterway. Its undiscovered Ireland at its best. Thank you for making it such a great trip.

John GeraghtyJuly 2017
Damien O’Brien

Best thing to do in Carlow or Kilkenny!

This was such a positive experience.

The equipment provided was perfect, safe and suitable for our use. Charlie was an very friendly and excellent guide, pointing out interesting things throughout the canoe trip. The route is taxing but not too taxing, just enough to make you feel you have had an energetic day out on the Barrow.

The scenery was beautiful, the locks and weirs were exciting, and I would recommend this to anyone!

Damien O’Brien July 2017
Tom G

We did the Barrow Thrills and Spills tour, first thing in the morning (10am). We were a family with one adult and 5 kids aged from 14 to 7. Our guides were Cliff and Luke, both of whom were great. No problem finding the location with the directions given and Google maps.

We had our own wetsuits and they gave us helmets and buoyancy aids. We also had proper beach shoes. Cliff told us that you need good shoes if you did fall out, although no one did. We got good safety instruction from the start and Cliff reminded us as we went around. But really it was quite safe and I had no worries about the kids once we got under way, I could tell it was going to be a successful morning. The river water was very clean, no problems.

We went over 2 weirs, 2 rapids and through 2 locks. On one of the weirs, we could get back around to do it again and the kids loved it, they did it 5 times!

We went about 2 hour on the water. This was about enough for our group as it is circular so the kids had to paddle upstream (mostly along the canal part of the river so not as bad as they would have you believe!). They were tired at the end.

There are clean changing rooms and toilets. We brought a picnic and this was demolished in no time.

Beautiful location and a great trip. Highly recommended. One of the kids said it was “way beyond cool”.

Tom G July 2017
Stag Party

Great craic on river with friends

We booked the kayaking on the river as a Stag event and had great craic for a couple of hours. It also served as a bonding or team building session as not all people on the trip had met each other before. Charlie and Cliff guided us down the river encountering weirs and rapids and everyone enjoyed it thoroughly.

Stag PartyJuly 2017
Ian W

My 12-year-old Pia and I had an absolute blast kayaking down the Barrow. Charlie has a great, people-friendly operation and is very professional. Perfect pace, spectacular scenery, and just the right amount of exertion. Would highly recommend.

Ian W July 2017
Alan Corr

Second time down the Barrow with Charlie , my sons birthday party and i knew his buddies would love it. Highly recommend this whether its a team building day or an afternoon with the kids ….5 star.

Alan CorrJuly 2017
Aideen McDermot

Cannot recommend Go With Tje Flow highly enough! Group of ten ladies of all abilities and levels of bravery when it came to swimming and kayaking! Charlie put us all at ease instantly, explaining everything clearly and making sure everybody felt confident about getting into the water and approaching weirs before we took off! He chatted easily and comfortably with everyone and put everyone at ease so that we all got maximum enjoyment out of our time on the river. It showcases the river Barrow at its best and from the most idyllic viewpoint, floating along its water. I would highly recommend this for anyone who’s keen to try something new, it’s accessible to all fitness levels and totally newbies! There’s changing facilities and toilets on site for when you get off the river and they are immaculate. Well done Charlie, you gave us all an afternoon in the sunshine that we’ll be talking about for a long time! I’m confident you’ll have plenty of return visitors from the group too!

Aideen McDermot June 2017
Alan & Lynn

Yesterday we took part in kayaking with Go with the flow. We had so much fun and loved the whole experience. Cliff the instructor was very welcoming, friendly and we knew we were in safe hands!! Highly recommend booking and we hope to be back again with our boys one day! Alan&Lynn

Alan & Lynn June 2017
Lisa Dempsey

We had a excellent family day out with Charlie and the boys on the River. It was a great adventure and amazing scenery. Charlie is an excellent instructor and guide. I would highly recommend this..Thanks guys for an amazing day!!!

Lisa Dempsey June 2017
Enda Harhen

Great morning 4 children and me! Great craic down rapids and weirs. Charlie excellent and made it even better for the kids. Highly recommended for family activity

Enda Harhen June 2017
Nicola Ní Dubhda

Myself and my boyfriend visited here today! Best laugh we have had in a long time, didn’t stop laughing from start to finish! Cliff and John were great!! everybody should give it a go!

Nicola Ní Dubhda May 2017
Jo Poynton - Tullow Rugby Club

Tullow RFC had Such a fun,fantastic, & team building Day today.. highly recommended to everyone big and small to give it a go …gr8 craic had by all

Jo Poynton - Tullow Rugby Club May 2017
Kevin Corrigan

Charlie was an unbelievable instructor and guide on our 3 day GAISCE expedition on the River Barrow. His knowledge of the river and the local area is second to none and I would highly recommend using Go with the Flow to experience this paradisiacal corner of Ireland.

Kevin Corrigan May 2017
Barbara

Prior to a recent trip to Kilkenny, we were looking for something to amuse our 13 year old and 10 year old girls. We came across Go with the Flow on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a go. We were thrilled that we did! From the start Charlie was a pleasure to deal with, calm and reassuring. The adventure brought us through locks and weirs, through rapids and through gentle flowing waters where the only sounds were splashing water and bird song…wonderful!
Charlie was a wonderful guide, great fun and very patient. He has a great knowledge of the local area and of the history of the waterways. He managed to stay patient with the girls when they ‘accidentally’ fell out of the boat….3 times!
I cannot recommend this trip highly enough for a great family adventure, we have taken home some wonderful memories.
Thanks Charlie!

BarbaraApril 2017
Maura

Brilliant day!

Group of 10 friends; 6 in kayaks, 4 in canoe (2per canoe).
Few falls and repeat rapids made the day really enjoyable and exciting! Great insight into the surrounding history.
Highly reccomend it 🙂

Maura April 2017
Stag Party

Brilliant Activity! Definitely worth doing!

16 of us did the rapids on a stag and it was brilliant. Everyone in the group had a great time and it was actually better than we expected. Hats off the the instructors, they were top notch and great craic! Fair play!

Stag PartyMarch 2017
John Casey

Brilliant morning in Feb!

Had a great day out with they Lads at go with the flow adventures this February. Our group were a little sceptical at first, being so cold out and having a few non-swimmers, but the guys are very well equipped and really professional, so we had brilliant morning on the river…it was such great fun and gave our group loads to talk about later in the day.

The go with the flow adventure guys are extremely professional, accommodating and most importantly…made sure we had brilliant fun. Our whole group had a ball and would definitely recommended it.
Cheers lads for a great day.

John Casey February 2017
Kim Henn

I called the owner Charlie the day before we arrived in Kilkenny and asked if it was possible to go on a trip the next day – sure it was. Even if we are just two people? That makes it more personal! Even in February? No problem, you’ll get wetsuits. So off we went on a rather cloudy and windy February day – and had great fun! The wetsuits kept us warm and thanks to Charlie’s help we stayed inside the canoe, as you would want to considering the season… (though he said you could take a swim in the summer). In addition to guiding us safely down three rapids (we did not have much experience in white water rafting) he also told us lots about the surrounding flora and fauna and also the history of the area, pointing out hidden buildings and old fishing facilities. Could not have asked for more! Thanks for a great day Charlie!

gowiththeflow.kim.fab2017
Kim HennFebruary 2017
Abhay A

Stag Day out !!! Amazing Experience Canoeing

We went for a canoeing outing for my friends STAG had a great time on the river , an amazing trip with beautiful scenery and we were lucky to have amazing weather. All gear provided, facilities for changing and showering were superb.Charlie is a amazing instructor and made us feel confident even though we hadn’t tried canoeing before. The instructions provided were clear and easy to follow .

We had such a great time going down weirs in the canoe and getting to swim down the rapids and there wasn’t a dull moment.
We loved every second of it.

I would highly recommend Go With The Flow – River Adventures .
Thanks Charlie we had a fantastic day!!!

gowiththeflow.abhay.november2016
Abhay ANovember 2016
STAG PARTY
Conor H: “Stag gathering”

Great day out, shook the cobwebs off!! Charlie and the lads were brilliant. They were so sound I thought they were actually part of the stag!! Def coming back here next chance I get. Lovely surroundings, good equipment and dead sound instructors. What more would ya want?

Sean C:

Great day out with 20 plus lads on the stag we were on. Charlie and the lads were very professional and made the day very easy for us lads (especially after a night on the beer before this) . We didn’t know what to expect at first, but after we got going it was a great laugh with everyone. Really scenic along the river route we were brought on and the weather held up for us even though it was overcast. Highly recommended for anyone on a weekend away with friends or stag’s etc. Cheers Charlie!!

stag.october2016.20plus.gowiththeflow

STAG PARTYOctober 2016
David C - Clearstream Technology, Enniscorthy

Team Building Day

Had a great adventure with Charlie with 16 engineers. We had an absolute ball and had a few of the boats end up in the ditch a few times. I have to complement Charlie on his professionalism, patience, knowledge of area, fun… as always the barrow is so beautiful. Why the carlow people don’t promote the beautiful and tranquility and adventure. Best of all he even takes pics of trip and posts them on Facebook.

gowiththeflow.barrowdiscovery.august2017

David C - Clearstream Technology, EnniscorthyOctober 2016
Trina Fitzgerald

The best hen party activity I have ever done. We had hours of fun and laughter .Charlie was great fun and took great care of each member of our group and catered for all levels.

trinafitzgerald.henparty.oct2016.gowiththeflow

Trina FitzgeraldOctober 2016
Rebecca S

Brilliant fun on the Barrow

When my two friends and I headed for an afternoon’s adventure canoeing on the Barrow we had no idea what a great time we would end up having. We were slightly dubious about the weather, the cold and the water. Within minutes all our fears and reservations were forgotten. The afternoon flew past with a combination of laughter, competition, relaxation and determination in the stunning surrounds of Clashganny Lough and the river Barrow.
We’re looking forward to the next time already.
Thanks a million Charlie!!!

gowiththeflow.oct2016.rebeccas
october2016.RebeccaS.gowiththeflow
Rebecca SOctober 2016
Sybil E

A super day trip

We were a large group of family and friends and had a super day on the river with the guys. Floating down the rapids was the best part. We all definitely want to do it again, even make it a regular event. I couldn’t recommend it more highly. The guys were really accommodating too as some people were late and were in a hurry, but they made it work for all of us. We won’t forget it. Thanks so much.

Sybil EAugust 2016
AnnyMay B

Fantastic!

We went canoeing with Go with the Flow last week as a family (2 adults, 2 teenagers) one afternoon with Rachel as our guide. It was just fantastic. The river and scenery is breathtaking. Rachel was fabulous. She is an excellent guide, with a great sense of humour, great security awareness, and very patient with us all. We thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon and it is one of the highlights of our three weeks in Ireland. Can only but recommend!
AnnyMay BAugust 2016
Paul

What a great adventure!

I’ve just finished a day on the Barrow River with gowiththeflow.ie… words can hardly explain what an amazing experience this was. I was one of five middle-aged men, full of intrepidation, with very little river or canoeing experience… to put ourselves in the capable hands of Charlie, who runs gowiththeflow. He spent just the right amount of time with us, preparing us fully in the necessary boating skills and safety measures needed. All appropriate clothing, life jackets and helmets were supplied… Then we set off into what can only be described as the most beautiful rivers and surrounding countryside I have ever seen… pure beauty! Yes we were challenged with the weirs and small rapids, and yes we got tired… but all of this was surpassed by the pure fun and adventure we experienced. If you are stuck in an office, or in a repetitive job… do yourself the best favour you will ever do… get on the phone to Charlie and book a day out on the river with him. He is one of the nicest and professional guys you will ever meet… You will finish the day in pure joy having achieved something new in your life… You will not forget the day and the great feeling you have of freedom and joy. Thank-you Charlie and Gowiththeflow for one of the best days I have ever experienced… Paul, still smiling and aching!

PaulAugust 2016
Christine Traynor

River Adventure

A great adventure in the Irish Rivers. A hidden Gem and a must do!!! Rachel and Luke our instructors were great fun. Very knowledgeable. It’s not for the faint hearted but wonderful family affair especially for the Teens.. You learn loads and it’s a great workout. Get a good lunch or breakfast before you head out.. We had the benefit of some berry foraging on the journey… Excellent
ChristineTraynor.gowiththeflow.aug16
ChristineTraynor.gowiththeflow.aug161
Christine TraynorAugust 2016
Gavin O

Great day out with the kids

Had a brilliant time on the river, took the Canadian canoes as younger kids. Brian the guide was great, plenty of weirs and rapids to wizz down. Highly recommend it

Gavin OAugust 2016
Maeve

Fantastic experience for all the family

We had a wonderful day with Charlie and his team , yesterday. We were out kayaking in the beautiful surroundings of the river barrow, an area of outstanding natural beauty. We were a motley group of children , some as young as 8 , and experienced and novice kayakers. ‘Go with the flow ‘ ensured that all our needs were catered for well.
My young son was a little nervous to start off, Charlie spent a lot of time explaining the river, the weir , rapids etc to him, and accompanied him down his first weir.
As a result he really enjoyed the afternoon and was so proud of himself coming back to land.
I would highly recommend this trip to families it was a highlight of our summer.
This area is unspoilt and very beautiful , it was fantastic to kayak down the river alongside the barrow walkway.

MaeveAugust 2016
Grainne P

An exhilarating way to explore the Barrow.

The setting is stunning, the weir and rapids were exhilarating, the experience in the loch was one of a kind. Above all, we had a hoot. A great introduction to kayaking.

Grainne PJuly 2016
Paddy Mullally

Great day out with Chalie and his team….well worth doing for team days out or families…really enjoyed it.

Paddy Mullally July 2016
Cian D

Great craic.. 

One of the best days out in a long time. Great craic with everyone involved. Will definitely be going back.

Cian DJuly 2016
Cath

The Highlight of our Holiday

A big thank you to Charlie who made our first canoeing experience a fabulous adventure. We had lots of spills and thrills and most importantly great fun. The I would highly recommend ‘Go with the Flow river adventures’. The river Barrow is beautiful and we got to see some of the wildlife along the banks From the booking to the actual adventure Charlie was a pleasure to deal with. We will certainly be back. Thank you for the memories.

CathJuly 2016
Tom R

Great Trip

Just finished a four day trip from Monasterevin to St Mullins with go with the flow. Charlie was very easy to deal with and everything went smoothly. It was a great four days canoeing and camping by the Barrow.

First day was relatively easy. From Monasterevin to Athy where we stopped for supplies and then on to Muganny where we camped for the night. There were only two weirs to negotiate and on Charlies advice we walked the canoes down the weir and set off again. Saves a lot of effort at locks.

Second day we went as far as Leighlinbridge. A couple of weirs and some rapids the far side of Millford weir. This can be avoided by taking the lock. We camped just before the Lord Bagnel hotel and had a few pints in Leighlinbridge.

Third day Leighlinbridge to Borris. More weirs than the previous two days and with a bit more confidence we shot a lot of them. I would advise paddling up and taking a look at the weir, pick your line, and then make sure you hit it square. Be prepared to take on some water and have something to bail out the canoe. You probably will take a swim once or twice but hold onto your canoe and paddles and then you can collect your belongings as they drift down the river.

Fourth day was Borris to St Mullins. Plenty of weirs and a few good rapids. All four of us had a great time and would highly recommend it. Beautiful scenery, great fun and good value for money.

Tom RJuly 2016
Trisha Murray

Had an absolutely fantastic time today on d river . Charlie & Rachel were so nice and so helpful. 5 adults and 8 kids all very impressed with our adventure we will definitely be back for more

Trisha Murray July 2016
Catherine Osborne

Fantastic fun. Highly recommend this. My 4 friends and I did a kayaking loop from clashganny, Borris, co Carlow. It was a good level for beginners/ intermediate. Beautiful scenery and great guides.

Catherine OsborneJuly 2016
Nuala M

Wonderful

My two lads and myself spend a wonderful week on the Barrow. It was at times gentle and peaceful and at other times full of fast paced action on the weirs. Totally liberating from technology. Charlie was there at all times with help if needed and the B&B owners were really nice people. You do need a certain level of fitness as you do spend most of the day rowing or paddling. I would recommend that you bring a flask – there is nothing nicer than a hot cup of tea on the bank for a break or at lunchtime. Bring the minimum of good clothes as all 3 of us ended up in the river on more than one occasion but Charlie does provide dry barrels which we found very good.

Nuala MJuly 2016
John Sloan

Brilliant, fun day. Highly recommend. Went with wife and 8yr old daughter. Safe and professional.

John SloanJuly 2016
Pat O’Connell

Myself and my two sons had a great day and would highly recommend it for a great family day out.

Pat O’ConnellJuly 2016
Anna P

Enjoyable afternoon away from the Office

Highly recommend this adventure- we were looking for something to do away from the office and this tick all the boxes – great fun had by all at MPA

Anna PJuly 2016
Margaret

As easy as ABC

Accessible Breathtaking Canoeing

It had been a while but Charlie remembered us.
Back with teens and my up-for-anything neighbours, we were in Borris, Co Carlow to canoe on the Barrow having had my début voyage a few years earlier down to St Mullin with three under tens (what?!!)and Awesome Brilliant Charlie.
Since that first escapade, there are welcome facilities at Claghshanny Falls and the riverside walk is an inspired concept.
Landlubbers can accompany their aquatic friends-each thinks the other is stone mad.
I’m in full Pocahontas mode and my city slickers are laughing so much they forgot to fight.
You’d think having this kind, thoughtful, fun expert with you for the day would cost a fortune but Charlie seems to have the river not just in his veins but his heart as well.
He is generous and patient (very) reassuring and encouraging.
Make contact with him because no website can do justice to his support in getting this motley crew from Dublin (that’s the D in the title doh)without a car to our Orinoco (go with the) Flow
Sail away, sail away, sail away sorry Enya.

Margaret June 2016
Tracey Coakley

Highly recommend it. I was so nervous going as I can’t swim and am very nervous around water but Charlie and his team were brilliant. Looked after me well and put my mind at ease.

Tracey Coakley June 2016
Paddy O’Gorman

Fab day on the Barrow. Father & son day out. Fantastic fun and secure in the knowledge Charlie & co were there beside us to help and guide. We’ll definitely be back!!

Paddy O’GormanOctober 2014
Chris Bruce Saunders

Cracking morning on the water, loved every second of it, hoping to do more in the future

Chris Bruce SaundersSeptember 2014
John O’Sullivan

There were a bunch of approx. 25 of us partaking in the Gowiththeflow experience this weekend as part of a stag. It was a fantastic experience. All involved could not speak highly enough about the professionalism of the whole thing – from start to finish.

We had almost 3 hours of laughing on the river – and we made great memories. The participants on the stag were made up of swimmers and non-swimmers, with great times had by all!!

Thanks to Gowiththeflow for a great day out.

Personally, I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a group event (stag, or other) – and I am confident the 20+ others in the group would say the same.

I will definitely return again.

John O’SullivanSeptember 2014
Toni Joyce

Myself, hubby and 3 kids age 7, 11 and 13 had a fantastic time on the river with Kevin and Rachel. They were great at making us feel safe as I was particularly nervous! I don’t swim but still managed to do the rapids swim which was a real experience! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a real bit of laugh and adventure with the kids! Thanks so much guys for a great day!!

Toni JoyceAugust 2014
Amanda Kavanagh Brooks

a great day out for families and good value for money

Amanda Kavanagh BrooksAugust 2014
Els Vanbeselaere

Very nice canoeing on the river. Good well equiped material and a good coaching. Our daughter was very much amused with the natural swimming! A great afternoon. It was very easy that we made a tour on the river and the canal so that we ended at our starting place.

Els VanbeselaereAugust 2014
Melanie O’Rourke

Absolutely brilliant – well organised and superb value for money – best activity my children have participated in for a long time – many thanks to Charlie and Rachel

Melanie O’RourkeJuly 2014
Sarah O’Regan

What an amazing experience we had with Kevin on Wednesday. I loved it so much I now want to join a canoeing/kayaking club in limerick! Definately want to go on another adventure with the guys here 🙂

Sarah O’Regan July 2014
Jamie Walters

Back from a great day out with my fiancee. Kevin our guide was super friendly, very knowledgeable and fun. We got to go down the rapids a few times both in the kayak and swimming and felt safe at all time thanks to our guide. Highly recommended this for couples and all sorts. Will definitely be back.

Jamie Walters July 2014
Eleanor Mullins

Thanks Charlie, I just had a peek at the photos, they are great! We really enjoyed ourselves yesterday, thank you so much for a great trip! Regards, Eleanor

Eleanor Mullins29th April 2013
Bernie Cummins

Bernie Commins commented on Go with the Flow River Adventures’s April 27th album. Bernie wrote: “Thank you so much Charlie, and your excellent, trusted canoeing instructors (I am so sorry I cannot recall names! head = sieve), for an amazing time on the river Barrow last Saturday! It was a laugh a minute from start to finish, so beautiful, challenging, fun, and made JK’s birthday surprise even better than I had hoped! He/we really enjoyed it. The instruction was excellent and we felt in safe hands at all times,with instructors who really knew what they were doing and talking about. The swim was excellent too – we could have done it over and over again;-) And thanks also for arranging for the sun to shine too! 😉 We couldn’t thank you enough and will definitely spread the word to others to check you out for a brilliant day! We will definitely be back, maybe for a longer stint next time. All the best and stay safe on the river!! Bernie Commins”

Bernie Cummins28th April 2013
Bridget Forristal

From the moment I spoke with Charlie in December last, it was very clear that he was as enthusiastic as I was to pull off a surprise 60th canoeing birthday event in Graiguemanagh for Tommy Forristal. Charlie was so positive, honest and detailed in his emails and website, I felt we had all the answers to undertake this. So 16 crazy and equally enthusiastic family and friends were tutored, encouraged, and helped by the GOWITHTHEFLOW team of Charlie, Rachel and Ken on the day. Despite a forecast of gale force winds and driving rain, Charlie’s team had already a safer plan for us, many of whom do not swim. God was on our side also and with no rain the fun and mayhem began. Laughter all the way. But the ever vigilant team made it all so easy on the day. Competent and caring, is how they were described. Did w have fun ? Mad fun, someone said it was the crazied thing he did since getting married, while another suggested that it was a terrific orgasmic experience !!! wow… The general view as we sat in the most delightful Mullichan cafe in St. Mullins, amid nourishing soup and toasties ,was a resounding successful day out with GOWITHTHEFLOW. With many thanks and we’ll be back Bridget Forristal and gang.

Bridget Forristal17th April 2013
Frances Griffin

Frances Griffin commented on Go with the Flow River Adventures’s April 28th album. Frances wrote: “Great day out. Some deadly photos there Charlie. Big thanks to you and Rachel. We’ll be back! 🙂 Frances & Dolores.”

Frances Griffin29th April 2013
Sebastian Crudden

“Fantastic weekend down in Kilkenny for my brother’s stag do. The highlight of the weekend had to be the rafting we went on on the Saturday morning in the River Barrow with Go With The Flow River Adventures. We were all a little delicate upon waking up on the Saturday morning but that was soon washed away as we managed to spend as much time in the water as we did in the canoes. It was great craic from start to finish and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a few hours quality entertainment for a relatively small fee. Thanks Charlie!”

Sebastian CruddenOctober 2012
Ruth Morton

“Hi Charlie, I just want to say a big ‘Thank You’ to yourself and Kevin for such an enjoyable day non Saturday. All the girls had a great experience. It was also great to have the photos up on facebook so soon. I will certainly recommend you to friends and family. Thanks again.”

Ruth MortonOctober 2012
Turlough O Brien

When Eire Og Senior footballers wanted to have a day out together we had a few things we wanted to achieve; it needed to be fun, it needed to be about the team, it needed to be exciting and memorable and ideally, in the times we are in, in Carlow. We decided to utilise the River Barrow for our team building day and Charlie Horan of Go With the Flow was the perfect answer. The day proved to be an even bigger success than we could have hoped for. Starting at beautiful Clashganny we paired off in our canoes and spent a memorable four hours white water rafting and racing down to Graiguenamanagh. It was unbelievable value for money, it was on our doorstep and achieved in a couple of hours what would normally take a weekend to do. I would highly recommend Go With The Flow to all organisations looking for something different, for a bit of craic and team building. We’ll be back!!

Turlough O Brienmanagement of Eire Og Senior Football team October 2012
Tim Gibbs

“A fantastic 4 day holiday for us …the beauty and serenity of the Barrow with the paddling and chat whilst looking out for wildlife really brought the family together in this shared adventure. The girls (11 & 13) each in a boat with a parent, kept going well and although the first day was long, it was nothing more than a ‘satisfied tired’. Good quality B&Bs along the way with a helpful friendly welcome made it all the better. The day we had of guided canoeing with Charlie was absolutely fantastic – he clearly loves it and his experience made the white water both safe and fun. Well done Charlie! And thank you for tailoring the holiday exactly to our needs, and adapting as we went along; “go with the flow” couldn’t be more apt.”

Tim GibbsSeptember 2012
Pat McEvoy - Nebraska, USA

I truly can’t say enough about Charlie and his team at Go With the Flow. Not only are they endlessly knowledgeable about the river, but they are equally as friendly. Charlie plays equal parts story teller and historian as he explains each ancient castle and lush property that you pass. Each section of the river offers up unique challenges and a beauty that can only be rivaled by the next section you paddle. After cruising the Barrow all the way from Carlow to New Ross my only regret is that I didn’t have the time to paddle more of the river. If it’s a one day trip you seek I implore you to come back and try a different section another day. If is a multiday trip you seek, Charlie has all your B&Bs set up for you in advance as well as comfortable familiarity of each town you may stay in. If you seek adventure: you can find it here. If you seek serenity: you can find it here. If you seek the raw beauty of Ireland’s untouched countryside: you can find it here. I have paddled all across North America and I can earnestly and honestly say that this was one of the best trips of my life. I will assuredly be back to visit Charlie and the Barrow again, even if it means another ten hour flight.

Pat McEvoy - Nebraska, USASeptember 2012
Graham Cawley

“Rapids, weirs, locks and lazy river. Thoroughly enjoyed by Graham, Callum and Emily. Thank you Charlie.”

Graham Cawley2012
Joanna Nakonieva

Hi Charlie, Thank you for a great day and for the photos 🙂 Joanna

Joanna Nakonieva2012
Sarah Owen

Hi Charlie, Sarah Owen also commented on Go with the Flow River Adventures’s video “River Safari – April 8th.” Sarah wrote: “Thanks Charlie, great day on the water!”

Sarah Owen2012
Emily Dillon

Thanks so much for the day Charlie! The pictures are so much fun to look through (I passed the link onto my friends to check out), I only wish we could have stayed out longer!

Emily Dillon2012
Brian

“Hey Charlie, Just wanted to say a massive thanks from all ten of us, myself, Dee, Eoin, John, Grace, Patrick, Aileen, Elma and the two Rachels for a fantastic weekend. We had a great time and all really enjoyed ourselves and looking forward to doing another river soon. Thanks again.”

BrianMay 2008
Andrew Reichwald

“Hi Charlie, the thanks are to you, not us, for making it such a good weekend for everybody. We all thoroughly enjoyed everything and were most impressed by your hard work in making sure that everything went well. I am sure the boys would be delighted to see a CD of the photos. I will recommend the weekend you provided for us to anyone that asks. Best regards.”

Andrew ReichwaldApril 2008
Irene Hall

“Thanks so much for a brilliant river adventure. It was the perfect hangover cure for all 17 of us. We all agreed that you have the patience of a saint. Our favourite bits were “free-floating” down the rapids in our buoyancy jackets and doing your so-called “challenges” which we are convinced are not actually achievable (nothing at all related to our canoe skills of course)!!!! The trip was worth every cent and it was a great way for the girls to get to know each other. We are still laughing about it all and will be for some time. I’ll recommend Go With The Flow to everyone – especially my friends for hen and stag parties. I’ve no doubt that we’ll meet again. Make sure to send me on any good photos that you have. A huge thanks again from me and all the girls, kind regards,”

Irene HallHen party
Nicola Elliott

“I just wanted to thank you sincerely for the absolutely fantastic day that you gave my whole family when we took our river adventure recently. It is so difficult to find an activity that will involve children from 9 to 14. All the children absolutely loved the day on the canoes, the swimming in the rapids has to be the highlight of the Summer for all of them. Your professional approach, the way you remembered the names of the entire party immediately, your easy way of explaining the safety issues without losing the interest of the children are to be highly recommended. I am not easy on the water which I explained to you. At no time, even when I swam in the rapids, was I anxious as I knew you were 100% sure of all the safety aspects and we were your number 1 priority. I was absolutely gobsmacked by the peace and quiet of the river barrow and had no idea Borris and the surrounding areas were so beautiful. Your recommendation to call to the Mulachain Cafe in St. Mullins just made the day. We sat overlooking the river tucking into hot chocolate exhilarated by the whole day. Thank you again Charlie.”

Nicola Elliott
Pat and Bob

“Hi Charlie we are nature lovers and hate tourists and crowds and this was definitely the type of holiday where you can get away from it all. To paddle almost silently downstream with a perfusion of wild flowers in full bloom along the riverbanks and Kingfishers darting on ahead of us was magical. We did capsize a couple of times but were blessed with sunny weather and soon dried out. Each village we stopped at was lovely, so pretty with all the flower displays and not a piece of litter to be seen. Top marks for the hotels they were a welcome luxury at the end of a tiring day and a wonderful breakfast to start a new day. And yes on the last day we did see an Otter, standing above a small waterfall looking for fish…… It was truly a fitting finish to our adventures Canoeing down the River Barrow. Many Thanks”

Pat and Bob
Miriam Moore

Miriam bought a canoe online and had it shipped to Northern Ireland “Hi Charlie The canoe and paddles arrived safely this afternoon and my husband is delighted with it! Many thanks for all your help and your excellent service, we can’t wait to get the trolley and get going!! We’ll let you know when it arrives. Please pass our thanks onto Tony for his first-rate delivery service, we really appreciate it too. Kind regards”

Miriam Moore
Mark Jopling

“Hi Charlie I wanted to thank you for all your help with our trip. It was the best of our expeditions yet. We’ve paddled in the UK, Scandanavia and eastern Europe but this year’s expedition topped the others. The wild campsites were just what we like (wild!), the scenery was stunning and the paddling challenging. I’ve never paddled a navigation before- the weirs were glorius- even the two that I sank in! and the locks provided easy portages to those that looked too fierce. I’m back in London now, bored and wishng I was back out the river. The hostel in New Ross was lovely and Paddy taxi’d us into town in the evening at a very good rate. I hope the rest of the season goes well for you. We will definitely consider Ireland again next year for our 10th trip- have you got any more rivers in your neck of the woods? Kind regards”

Mark Jopling
Francis Minogue

Charlie & his team catered brillantly for our 60+ Cubs, Scouts, Ventures, Rovers and Leaders in June – bringing them on an excellent canoeing trip from the Basin in Colrain along the Nore to Castletown. The Group ranged in ages from 8 to 50; with a wide range of skills – Charlie’s approach made the day enjoyable for all and added greatly to our Group Camp that weekend. We would definitely recommend using Go With The Flow for your river adventures.

Francis MinogueGroup Leader Roscrea Scouts & National Treasurer of Scouting Ireland
Chris Nolan

Hi Charlie, Just wanted to drop you a line to say thanx again for the outing. Everyone agreed that it was money well spent and that it was the best activity we could have picked for the day. It really gave us something to laugh about when looking back over the (very 🙂 few drinks later on. It was very professional and it’s obvious that you have a passion for the sport that you want to share. Nice one. I think you might have a few converts here so who knows, we may bump into you on the water at some stage. Thanks again

Chris Nolan Stag party
Colin

“Dear Charlie, I just wanted to drop you a line and let you know how much we all enjoyed kayaking. It was exactly what we were after. The whole stag weekend was a huge success. A large part of that success was down to the river adventure and a large part of that was due to your skills and input. The reports from all the lads were uniformly enthusiastic, everyone had a great time, even those lads who weren’t expecting it to be their type of thing. You managed to be highly professional and great company all at once. Not an easy mix to achieve but you nailed it. Many thanks”

ColinStag party
Suzanne Crotty

“Hi Charlie, I just wanted to say a big “THANK YOU!” from all of us hens that you and Nathan took out on the river last Saturday afternoon, 22nd May. We had an absolute ball, and we really enjoyed sliding down over the weirs and rapids! It was a great chance to dunk the bride to be as well. It was brilliant fun, ye really looked after us,(even providing spare shorts for the unprepared!) and the sunny weather you organised for us was fabulous 😉 Also, thanks again for waiting on for the two girls to arrive when they were so delayed, and directing them down to the river, we all really appreciated it. We’ll all be telling everybody we know to try out your river adventures, and I’ll definitely be back again. Best wishes,”

Suzanne Crotty Hen party